British Airways London Gatwick Winter Schedule

Here are details of BA’s London Gatwick winter schedule from Sunday 28 October 2018 with details of returning seasonal winter routes.

London Air Travel » British Airways » British Airways London Gatwick » British Airways London Gatwick Winter Schedule

British Airways "The hub without the hubbub" TV ad 1993
British Airways “The hub without the hubbub” TV ad 1993

British Airways is starting to piece together its schedules for the Winter 2018 season which officially begins on Saturday 28 October 2018.

An extensive list of changes for London Heathrow has been published.

Here are known changes at London Gatwick so far. Note this is very much work in progress. Further changes, particularly to short-haul, are expected to be announced. Also, it is expected that significant changes will be announced for Summer 2019 as BA beds in the extra slots it has acquired from Monarch.

Flights at London Gatwick can be booked now at ba.com

Long-Haul Changes

Cape Town resumes for the winter, three times weekly, from Monday 12 November 2018 to Saturday 30 March 2019.

Las Vegas will now operate year round.

Lima is suspended for the winter from Friday 26 October 2018 until Sunday 31 March 2019.

Male resumes for the winter from Sunday 28 October 2018 to Friday 29 March 2019.

Oakland is suspended from Saturday 13 October 2018. It was planned to resume on Monday 1 April 2019, but the route is now permanently suspended.

Toronto is suspended for the winter from Friday 12 October 2018 until Friday 3 May 2019.

New Routes

Cologne four times weekly on Monday, Thursday, Friday and Sunday from Friday 16 November to Friday 29 March 2019.

Lyon twice weekly on Saturday and Sunday from Saturday 15 December 2018 until Sunday 21 April 2019.

Palma will now operate year-round, three times weekly on Tuesday, Friday and Sunday, increasing to four times weekly from 7 February 2019. It was previously due to end on Sunday 30 September 2018 until Monday 22 April 2019.

Suspended Short-Haul Routes

Fuerteventura was originally planned returned from Saturday 15 September 2018 to Saturday 6 April 2019. However, this route has now been suspended from Sunday 24 November 2018. BA has arranged for passengers to fly on Aer Lingus or SN Brussels Airlines via Dublin and Brussels from London Heathrow respectively. Note that if you were due to fly in Club Europe you will be downgraded to economy on Aer Lingus and SN Brussels Airlines.

Paphos is suspended during December 2018 and January 2019. BA is in the process of arranging alternative accommodation for passengers.

Short-Haul Frequency Changes

Alicante increases from 5 to 8 flights a week, and 9 flights a week from 8 February 2019.

Faro increases from 9 to 10 flights a week.

Funchal increases from 5 to 7 flights a week.

Lanzarote increases from 4 to 7 flights a week.

Malaga increases from 10 to 14 flights a week.

Nice increases from 11 to 12 flights a week, and 13 flights a week from 6 February 2019.

Oporto increases from 4 to 5 flights a week, from 6 February 2019.

Seville increases from 6 to 7 flights a week.

Tenerife increases from 8 to 13 flights a week.

Tirana increases from 7 to 9 flights a week.

Turin increases from 14 to 17 flights a week.

Valencia increases from 4 to 5 flights a week from 4 February 2019. This route will transfer to London Heathrow from Sunday 31 March 2019.

Returning Short-Haul Winter Seasonal Routes

Friedrichshafen returns from Saturday 22 December 2018 until Saturday 13 April 2019.

Geneva returns from Saturday 8 December 2018 until Sunday 21 April 2019 with increased frequency of 23 flights a week.

Grenoble returns from Saturday 15 December 2018 to Sunday 31 March 2019 with increased frequency of 3 flights a week.

Innsbruck returns from Saturday 8 December 2018 to Sunday 14 April 2019.

Nuremberg returns from Monday 12 November 2018 to Sunday 6 January 2019.

Vienna returns from Sunday 28 October 2018 to Friday 4 January 2019. This was previously due to end on Friday 29 March 2019.

Short-Haul Winter Season Suspensions

Bari ends on Sunday 28 October 2018 until Monday 1 April 2019.

Cagliari ends on Saturday 27 October 2018 until Thursday 25 April 2019.

Catania ends on Sunday 28 October 2018 until Sunday 31 March 2019.

Crete ends on Sunday 28 October 2018 until Thursday 25 April 2019.

Dalaman ends on Saturday 27 October 2018.

Gibraltar ends on Sunday 30 September 2018 until Saturday 6 April 2019.

Ibiza ends on Sunday 28 October 2018 until Friday 19 April 2019.

Limoges ends on Sunday 2 September 2018.

Mahon ends on Saturday 29 September 2018 until Saturday 27 April 2019.

Rhodes ends on Saturday 27 October 2018 until Saturday 27 April 2019.

Thessaloniki ends on Sunday 28 October 2018 until Monday 1 April 2019.

Codeshare Partners

BA’s Oneworld alliance partner Finnair will fly to Ivalo twice weekly from Thursday 13 December 2018 to Thursday 28 March 2019 and Kittilä weekly from Sunday 16 December 2018 to Sunday 26 March 2019. These can be booked through ba.com as codeshares.

Aircraft & In-flight Service

By October 2018, it is likely that there will be at least six refurbished Boeing 777s which should be operating to Cancun, Kingston, New York JFK, Orlando, Punta Cana as well as selected flights to Fort Lauderdale and Tampa.

However, passengers flying in Club World will have to wait until 2019 before BA starts rolling out its new Club World bedding and food service at Gatwick.

One thought on “British Airways London Gatwick Winter Schedule”

  1. Why is more expensive to travel from the Caribbean to the UK than the Uk to the Caribbean??????

We welcome any thoughts and comments below: