British Airways London Heathrow Summer Schedule

Here are details of BA’s London Heathrow summer schedule from Sunday 31 March 2019.

London Air Travel » British Airways » British Airways London Heathrow » British Airways London Heathrow Summer Schedule

BA Airbus A319 aircraft at London Heathrow (Image Credit: British Airways)
BA Airbus A319 aircraft at London Heathrow (Image Credit: British Airways)

British Airways has pretty much firmed up its schedule for the summer travel season, which officially starts on Sunday 31 March 2019.

Here are details of known schedule changes. Please note these are indicative and subject to change, particularly in the case of seasonal routes around the shoulder season.

Long-Haul Changes

BA will reinstate three former long-haul routes this summer:

Osaka, four times weekly from Sunday 31 March.

Pittsburgh, four times weekly, from Tuesday 2 April.

Islamabad, three times weekly from Sunday 2 June.

In terms of seasonal long-haul changes:

BA will fly to Charleston twice a week from Thursday 4 April until Thursday 24 October.

Calgary returns for summer from Sunday 31 March until Friday 25 October.

Muscat is suspended for the summer from Sunday 31 March until Wednesday 30 October.

In terms of long-haul frequency changes:

Nashville increases to daily from Monday 22 April.

Phoenix decreases from 10 flights a week to a daily service from Sunday 31 March.

New Short-Haul Route

Valencia transfers from Gatwick to Heathrow from Sunday 31 March.

Short-Haul Route Suspensions

Bilbao transfers to Gatwick from Sunday 31 March.

Milan Linate is suspended from Sunday 28 July to Saturday 26 October due to the closure of the airport.

Tallinn is suspended from Friday 29 March.

New Summer Seasonal Short-Haul Routes

Bastia once a week on Saturdays from 25 May to 28 September.

Preveza on Wednesdays and Sundays from Sunday 26 May to Sunday 28 September.

Ljubljana in Slovenia and Montpellier from Monday 15 July to Monday 2 September.

Seasonal Short-Haul Route Changes

Marrakech and Salzburg end for the winter on Saturday 30 March.

The following summer seasonal routes return this year:

Brindisi from Saturday 25 May to Saturday 5 October.
Chania from Wednesday 22 May to Saturday 26 October.
Corfu from Sunday 31 March to Saturday 26 October.
Faro from Sunday 31 March to Saturday 26 October.
Figari Sud-Corse Corsica, from Sunday 26 May to Sunday 29 September.
Ibiza from Sunday 28 April to Saturday 28 October.
Kalamata from Sunday 28 April to Sunday 29 September.
Kefalonia from Tuesday 30 April to Saturday 28 September.
Mykonos from Sunday 28 April to Saturday 26 October.
Nantes from Thursday 11 July to Wednesday 4 September.
Olbia from Saturday 18 May to Sunday 29 September.
Palma from Sunday 31 March to Saturday 26 October.
Palermo from Sunday 28 April to Sunday 29 September.
Pula from Tuesday 21 May to Tuesday 24 September.
Santorini from Sunday 28 April to Saturday 26 October.
Split from Sunday 28 April to Friday 25 October.
Zakynthos from Saturday 25 May to Saturday 28 September.

Note that operating dates and frequencies can change at short notice due to commercial demand.

Almeria will not return this year, having transferred to Gatwick.

Menorca will not return this year, and will operate exclusively at Gatwick.

Murcia will also not return as BA has not yet chosen to operate from the new airport in the region.

Short-Haul Frequency Changes

There are the usual modest frequency changes on long established routes. Particularly of note, and probably a sign of market dynamics, is that Manchester decreases by 14 flights a week, Glasgow decreases by 8 flights a week, and Aberdeen and Newcastle each decrease by 7 flights a week. Inverness however increases to 16 flights a week.

Helsinki also decreases to a daily service.

Larnaca increases to 2 to 3 times daily from Friday 12 July.

Pisa increases to 18 flights a week and also transfers from Terminal 5 to 3.

Alliance & Codeshare Partners

American Airlines launches a daily service to Phoenix from 31 March.

2 thoughts on “British Airways London Heathrow Summer Schedule”

    1. They are returning this year, but the schedule has been cut back for operational reasons. Alicante, Florence, Ibiza, Malaga, Mykonos, Nice, and Palma return to Manchester from the weekend beginning 17 May to the end of September. Stansted has also been cut back a little. All flights from Birmingham and Bristol have been cancelled.

We welcome any thoughts and comments below: